Training/Occupation Info

Canada's Building & Construction Unions have a lot to offer Canada's Veterans

line

International Association of Bridge, Structural,                  Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers.

The Department of Apprenticeship and Training and The National Training Fund oversees, coordinates, and manages the education and training programs that provide our members with knowledge and skills ranging from the basic to the very advanced. This Department's mission necessitates interaction with the International, Local Unions, Local Joint Apprenticeship Committees and Trade Improvement Committees, and various other organizing bodies to ensure that our outside local and shop members in the United States and Canada receive the comprehensive and effective education and training that will enable them to carry out their work safely and efficiently while meeting the highest standards of quality.


The mission of Ironworkers Apprenticeship and Training Department is to ensure that our union ironworkers have the skills, knowledge, and training necessary to be safe on the jobsite, competitive in the workplace, and satisfied in their careers.

For more information, click here.
line






International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers
International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers The Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers Union is committed to providing an adequate supply of trained insulation mechanics with the competitive skills necessary to meet industry needs now and in the future.

The goal of the apprentice program is to provide the highest level of training to apprentices, in order that they may assume positions as fully-qualified journeymen ready to meet the professional challenges of the insulation industry.

For more information, click here.

line

International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers
International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers From the early days of steamships and locomotives to the modern supercritical boilers, the Boilermakers continue to be a leader in apprenticeship training and journeyperson upgrading.

A Boilermaker apprenticeship ranges from 4800 hours to 6000 hours depending on the province of indentureship with 720 of those hours spent in a Community College for the in-school portion. Colleges follow a national common core curriculum which allows for ease of mobility for apprentices as well as consistency for in school training.

Providing highly skilled and qualified Boilermakers has and will continue to be a major focus of our organization by promoting lifelong learning opportunities for our members. Our local union training centers provide upgrading courses in all aspects of safety and other trade related courses, including welding, rigging and supervision.

For more information click here

line

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers The IBEW represents workers in the electrical industry including construction, gas and electric utilities, telecommunications, railroads and government agencies. Construction and residential electricians work in all phases of the electrical construction and service industry.

 Electricians work in the electric sign industry and increasingly perform more work in the installation of fiber optics and voice/data/video equipment. IBEW electricians participate in a five-year apprentice program.

For more information click here

line

International Brotherhood of Teamsters
International Brotherhood of Teamsters Union training is essential to ensuring our members proper representation, maintaining our collective bargaining gains and improving our working conditions. Each year, several training seminars are available for our delegates, staff members and Local Union officers.

The Teamsters Canada Education Department works closely with the Canadian Labour Congress, provincial labour Federations, Joint Councils and Local Unions to develop programs and offer training sessions that meet the requirements of today’s highly complex labour relations system. These programs cover a wide range of subjects or issues, such as collective bargaining, grievance procedures, interpreting collective agreements, health and safety, technological changes, sexual harassment and a host of others, including the role of women in the labour movement.

For more information click here

line

International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers The International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers' apprenticeship and training system is widely recognized for producing highly skilled craftworkers. Through Local union programs and those offered through the International Masonry Institute, BAC members and contractors have access to training opportunities unmatched in the masonry industry.

For more information click here

line

International Union of Elevator Constructors
International Union of Elevator Constructors Elevator Constructor apprentices are registered with the National Elevator Industry Education Program. This program of study requires five years to complete to take the mechanic examination. There are two more years of study to complete the program.

For more information click here
line

International Union of Operating Engineers
International Union of Operating Engineers IUOE training programs are second to none. We have over one-thousand instructors, hundreds of facilities, classrooms, shops, and labs, and thousands of acres throughout the United States and Canada where apprentices and journey-level members hone or advance their skills. Our members have access to training on virtually every topic heavy equipment operators and stationary engineers need to become their very best.

For more information, click here.

line

International Union of Painters and Allied Trades
International Union of Painters and Allied Trades All apprenticeship programs incorporate skills training with safety and health training. Apprentices are taught about the International Union of Painters and Allied Crafts (IUPAT) and how the union operates. All apprentices are paid and receive regular raises during the course of their apprenticeship. Sign and Display workers have a two-year apprenticeship, Painters, Drywall Finishers and Floor Coverers participate in a three-year apprenticeship, and Glaziers have a four year apprenticeship.

For more information click here

line

Laborers' International Union of North America
Laborers' International Union of North America LIUNA training includes more than 50 different courses, opening the doors to new opportunity and advancement. Classes are available in every state in the U.S. and every province in Canada and provide valuable learning in skills such as hazardous materials remediation, remote tunneling, concrete work and an array of building construction skills.

Training helps employers compete with higher productivity and quality, and helps workers earn more and work more safely.

For more information click here

line

Operative Plasterers' and Cement Masons' International Association of the United States and Canada
Operative Plasterers' and Cement Masons' International Association of the United States and Canada The system of apprenticeship was first developed in the later middle ages and came to be supervised by craft guilds and town governments. A master craftsman was entitled to employ young people as an inexpensive form of labor in exchange for providing formal training in the craft.

Today's apprenticeship training is managed by labor and management as equal partners, and it has evolved to meet the needs of modern construction industry. An apprentice in the OPCMIA will be taught the skills and knowledge of the trade through a combination of on-the-job training and related classroom instruction. This two pronged approach to training permits a young person beginning their career to advance quickly while becoming an ever increasingly productive member of the crew.

For more information click here

line

Sheet Metal Workers' International Association
Sheet Metal Workers' International Association The apprenticeship program for sheet metal workers combines on-the-job training with classroom instruction, which takes place at state-of-the art JATC owned facilities or in the vocational training departments of local school and/or community colleges. Each JATC program has its own computers, which allows the JATC to deliver training, monitor progress, and communicate with other apprenticeship programs through the International Training Institute (ITI) home page.

The apprenticeship program lasts four years, during which apprentices receive wages and benefits as well as top-of-the-line instruction at no cost! In the first and second year, apprentices learn about drafting, sheet metal tools, safety procedures, pattern layout and development as well as how mathematics applies to the trade. In the third year, apprentices work more on their own, and will learn how to install HVAC equipment, welding, hoisting and rigging, and retrofitting environmental systems. Finally, in the fourth year, apprentices learn about fine tuning HVAC systems and welding techniques. Of course, by the end of the fourth year apprentices attain journeyperson status!

For more information click here
line

United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada
United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada The United Association has the first nationally registered joint apprenticeship program in the United States, dating back to 1936, and is now proudly entering its seventh decade.

Individuals who enter a United Association five-year apprenticeship program are part of a select group of men and women motivated to learn a complex and challenging trade while upholding the ideals of trade unionism.

For more information, click here

line

United Brotherhood of Carpenters
United Brotherhood of Carpenters The Carpenters' Union recognizes that an ongoing, robust commitment to apprenticeship training is the foundation for a successful future for our trade. More than a century ago, skilled journeymen would train members of their own families, mostly on the job, to produce quality work and uphold the standards of the trade. As the need for new construction grew, so too did the need for skilled tradespeople. Today, in addition to the true hands-on experience that is derived from on-the-job training, our educational facilities provide outstanding learning opportunities in the classroom as well.

For more information, click here

line

United Brotherhood of Carpenters Millwrights
United Brotherhood of Carpenters Millwrights TUBC millwrights are known throughout the United States and Canada as being the best trained and most well prepared for any project. Training is also done in both classroom and hands-on settings at training centers around the country.

Apprenticeships and skill-upgrade classes for journeymen expand skills and keep professionals on the cutting edge of innovations in materials and techniques. We offer customized training if a project needs it, and we provide training onsite, if that’s what it takes.

For more information, click here

line

Informations au sujet de la formation/profession

Les Syndicats des métiers de la construction du Canada qui soutient les Anciens combattants

line

International Association of Bridge, Structural,                  Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers. Le Département de l’apprentissage et de la formation et le Fonds national de formation organisent, coordonnent, et gère les programmes de formation qui offrent à nos membres le savoir et les compétences de base et avancées. La mission du Département nécessite de la cohésion entre le syndicat international, les sections locales, les comités conjoints locaux, les comités d’amélioration de métier, et les autres organes directeurs pour s’assurer que nos membres de local et d’ateliers externes aux États-Unis et au Canada reçoivent la formation complète et les compétences qui leur permettront d’effectuer leur travail efficacement et sécuritairement en conformité aux plus grandes normes de qualité.

L’objectif du programme programme d’apprentissage c’est d’offrir la meilleure formation possible aux apprentis pour qu’ils puissent occuper des emplois à titre de compagnons qualifiés prêts à relever les défis de la profession de calorifugeage.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.

line

International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers Le syndicat des calorifugeurs s’engage à fournir une main-d'œuvre suffisante qui détient les compétences nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins présents et futurs de l’industrie.

L’objectif du programme programme d’apprentissage c’est d’offrir la meilleure formation possible aux apprentis pour qu’ils puissent occuper des emplois à titre de compagnons qualifiés prêts à relever les défis de la profession de calorifugeage.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.

line


Fraternité internationale des chaudronniers, constructeurs de navire en fer, forgerons, forgeurs et aides
International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers De l’époque des premiers navires à vapeur et des locomotives jusqu’aux présentes chaudières supercritiques, les chaudronniers jouent un rôle de premier plan en matière de programmes d’apprentissages et de perfectionnement des compagnons.

Une formation d’apprentissage peut durer de 4800 à 6000 heures selon la province dont 720 heures de formation théorique dans un établissement postsecondaire. Les établissements offrent le même programme de base ce qui facilite la mobilité des apprentis et uniformise le volet théorique de la formation.

Notre organisation s’efforce toujours de former des chaudronniers très compétents et qualifiés en favorisant les opportunités de formation continue pour nos membres. Nos centres de formation des sections locales offrent des cours de mis à niveau dans tous les aspects de sécurité et autres cours liés au métier, dont la soudure, le montage et la supervision.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Fraternité internationale des ouvriers en électricité
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers La FIOE et l'Association canadienne des entrepreneurs électriciens (ACEE) offrent de la formation et de l’apprentissage dans les domaines suivants :
  • Électricien de construction et d’entretien
  • Électricien des communications
  • Technicien des communications

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Fraternité internationale des Teamsters
International Brotherhood of Teamsters La formation syndicale est essentielle pour bien représenter nos membres, conserver les acquis dans nos conventions collectives et améliorer nos conditions de travail. Chaque année, plusieurs séminaires sont offerts à nos délégués, notre personnel et nos dirigeants de sections locales.

Le service de formation de Teamsters Canada travaille de concert avec le Congrès du travail du Canada, les fédérations provinciales du travail, les comités conjoints et les sections locales pour développer des programmes et offrir des séances de formation qui répondent aux exigences des relations de travail très complexes. Ces programmes couvrent de nombreux sujets et enjeux, dont la négociation collective, les procédures de grief, l’interprétation des conventions collectives, la santé et la sécurité, les changements technologiques, le harcèlement sexuel et plusieurs autres, y compris le rôle des femmes dans le mouvement syndical.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Union internationale des briqueteurs & métiers connexes
International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers Le programme d’apprentissage de l’Union internationale des briqueteurs & métiers connexes est réputé pour produire une main-d'œuvre très qualifiée. Par l’entremise des programmes dans les sections locales et des programmes offerts par l’Institut international de maçonnerie, les membres et les entrepreneurs de l’union ont accès à des formations inégalées dans l’industrie de la maçonnerie.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Union Internationale des constructeurs d'ascenseurs
International Union of Elevator Constructors Les apprentis en construction d’ascenseurs sont inscrits au programme de formation de National Elevator Industry. Ce programme d’étude dure cinq ans avant de passer l’examen mécanique. Par la suite, il y a deux autres années de formation.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici
line

Union internationale des opérateurs-ingénieurs
International Union of Operating Engineers Les programmes de formation de l’UIOI sont sans égal. Nous avons plus de mille formateurs, des centaines de centres, de salles de classe, d’ateliers et de laboratoires et des milliers d’acres de terrain aux États-Unis et au Canada pour permettre aux apprentis et aux compagnons de perfectionner leurs compétences. Nos membres ont accès à de la formation dans tous les domaines dans lesquels les opérateurs de machinerie lourde et les mécaniciens de machinerie fixe doivent briller.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.

line

Union internationale des peintres et métiers connexes
International Union of Painters and Allied Trades Tous les programmes d’apprentissage comportent un volet sur les compétences et un volet sur la santé et sécurité. Les apprentis apprennent les fondements et les rouages de l’Union internationale des peintres et métiers connexes. Tous les apprentis sont rémunérés et ils ont régulièrement des augmentations de salaire durant leur apprentissage. Les travailleurs de panneaux et d’enseignes suivent une formation de deux ans. Les peintres, les finisseurs de cloisons sèches et les poseurs de revêtements de plancher suivent une formation de trois ans et les vitriers suivent une formation de quatre ans.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Union internationale des journaliers d'Amérique du Nord
Laborers' International Union of North America La formation offerte par l’UIJAN comporte plus de 50 cours, ouvrants de nombreuses possibilités de carrière. Les cours sont offerts dans chaque état des États-Unis et dans chaque province au Canada. Les cours permettent d’obtenir des compétences pratiques, dont l’élimination des matières dangereuses, le tunnelage à distance, le bétonnage et une multitude de compétences en construction.

La formation renforce la compétitivité des employeurs en augmentant la qualité et la productivité de la main-d'œuvre et elle aide les travailleurs à toucher de meilleurs salaires et à travailler sécuritairement.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Association internationale des plâtriers et des finisseurs en ciment des États-Unis et du Canada
Operative Plasterers' and Cement Masons' International Association of the United States and Canada Les systèmes d’apprentissage ont été créés à la fin du Moyen Âge et ils sont devenus supervisés par des guildes d’artisans et des administrations municipales. Un maître artisan pouvait embaucher des jeunes comme main-d’œuvre peu coûteuse et leur offrait, en échange, une formation formelle dans le métier.

Aujourd’hui, les programmes d’apprentissage sont gérés par les travailleurs et les directeurs à titre de partenaires égaux et ils ont évolué pour répondre aux besoins contemporains de la construction. Un apprenti de notre association obtient le savoir et les compétences du métier par l’entremise d’une formation théorique en classe et d’une formation pratique sur le terrain. Cette formation en deux volets permet aux jeunes en début de carrière de progresser rapidement tout en devenant un membre de plus en plus productif de l’équipe.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Association internationale des travailleurs du métal en feuilles
Sheet Metal Workers' International Association Le programme d’apprentissage des travailleurs du métal en feuilles comporte un volet pratique et un volet théorique offerts dans les établissements modernes de l’AITMF ou dans les centres de formation professionnelle d’école secondaire et poste-secondaires. Chaque programme de l’AITMF comporte ses propres systèmes informatiques, ce qui permet à l’AITMF d’offrir la formation, de suivre l’avancement et de communiquer avec d’autres programmes d’apprentissage par l’entremise de la page d’accueil de l’Institut international de formation (ITI).

Le programme d’apprentissage s’effectue en quatre ans durant lequel les apprentis obtiennent un salaire et des avantages sociaux ainsi qu’une formation de premier plan gratuitement! Durant les deux premières années, les apprentis apprennent la conception, les outils, les procédures de sécurité, la création et la disposition de motifs ainsi que l’utilisation des mathématiques dans le métier. Dans la troisième année, les apprentis travaillent de manière autonome et apprennent l’installation d’équipement CVC, la soudure, le levage et le montage, et la mise à jour de systèmes environnementaux. Finalement, dans la quatrième année, les apprentis apprennent le réglage minutieux des systèmes CVC et les techniques de soudure. Évidemment, à la fin de la quatrième année, les apprentis obtiennent le statut de compagnon!

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Association unie des compagnons et apprentis de la plomberie et de la tuyauterie des États-Unis et du Canada
United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada L’Association unie détient le premier programme conjoint d’apprentissage national enregistré des États-Unis qui existe depuis 1936 et entame avec grande fierté sa septième décennie.

Les personnes qui choisissent d’entreprendre un apprentissage de l’Association unie de cinq ans font partie d’un groupe unique de personnes qui ont la motivation d’apprendre un métier complexe et gratifiant tout en défendant les idéaux du syndicalisme de métier.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Fraternité unie des charpentiers et menuisiers d'Amérique
United Brotherhood of Carpenters La Fraternité des charpentiers et menuisier reconnaît qu’un engagement ferme et durable envers l’apprentissage est essentiel pour garantir l’avenir radieux du métier. Il y a plus d’un siècle, les artisans qualifiés formaient les membres de leurs familles, surtout en cours de travail, pour produire des ouvrages de qualité et pour renforcer les normes du métier. La demande grandissante en construction nécessitait un plus grand bassin de travailleurs qualifiés. Aujourd’hui, en plus de l’expérience pratique acquise durant la formation en cours de travail, nos programmes offrent de la formation théorique hors pair dans nos centres d’enseignement.

Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici

line

Fraternité unie des charpentiers et mécaniciens-monteurs d’Amérique
United Brotherhood of Carpenters Les mécaniciens-monteurs installent, entretiennent et réparent la machinerie industrielle dans les usines d’assemblage, les aciéries, les raffineries, les centrales électriques, les stations de pompage et toutes autres industries qui ont recours aux machineries lourde.
Pour plus d' informationser, cliquez ici
line