<< Back

International Union of Elevator Constructors

The following information is provided as a general overview/guideline and it subject to change. Information as to earnings and benefits should be verified with the trade office in your geographical area as it can vary from province to province.


International Union of Elevator Constructors
7154 Columbia Gateway Dr.
Columbia, MD 21046

Top Officer:
Frank J. Christensen, General President
www.iuec.org

The IUEC represent the most qualified and trained elevator constructors in the world. Members assemble, install and replace elevators, escalators, dumbwaiters, moving walkways and similar equipment in new and old buildings. Elevator constructors also maintain and repair this equipment once it is in service, as well as modernize older equipment.

What do Elevator Constructors Do?

Assemble, Install, Maintain and Replace:

What is an Elevator Constructors' Apprenticeship Program?

Elevator Constructor apprentices are registered with the National Elevator Industry Education Program. This program of study requires five years to complete to take the mechanic examination. There are two more years of study to complete the program.

How much will I earn?

You earn while you learn the trade. Union journeymen Elevator Constructors wages and fringe benefits are negotiated on their behalf by the union through collective bargaining with signatory contractors. Some apprenticeship programs partner with community colleges to offer college credit for apprenticeship classes.

Wages vary according to the geographic location of the local union. The average starting wage for 1st year apprentices is 40 - 50% of the Journeyman's wage rate plus fringe benefits. Your earnings are adjusted annually to reflect your advancing skills and increasing knowledge of the trade.

What type of work will I do?

Elevator constructors perform the construction, operation, inspection, testing, maintenance, alteration, and repair of elevators, platform lifts, stairway chair lifts, escalators, moving walks, dumbwaiters, material lifts, and automatic transfer devices. They also perform the construction, operation, inspection, maintenance, alteration and repair of automatic guided transit vehicles such as automated people movers. Individuals perform this work while working at heights, around exposed electrical contacts and moving sheaves and cables.

<< Retour

Union internationale des constructeurs d’ascenseur

Les renseignements suivants figurent à titre informatif et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications sans préavis. Comme les revenus et les avantages sociaux varient d’une province à l’autre, veuillez contacter le bureau syndical pour toute information à cet effet.


Union internationale des constructeurs d’ascenseur
7154 Columbia Gateway Dr.
Columbia, MD 21046

Dirigeant principal :
Frank J. Christensen, président général
www.iuec.org

L’IUEC représente des constructeurs d’ascenseur dont le niveau de formation et d’expertise est unique au monde. Les membres doivent assembler, installer et remplacer des ascenseurs, escaliers mécaniques, monte-plats, allées roulantes et autre type d’équipement semblable dans des nouvelles constructions et des bâtiments existants. Les constructeurs d’ascenseur doivent également maintenir et réparer l’équipement en service, en plus de mettre à niveau l’équipement plus ancien.

En quoi consiste le métier de constructeur d’ascenseur?

Assembler, installer, maintenir, remplacer :

En quoi consiste le programme de formation au métier de constructeur d’ascenseur?

Pour leur apprentissage, les constructeurs d’ascenseur doivent suivre la formation offerte par le National Elevator Industry Education Program. Il s’agit d’un programme de cinq au terme duquel les participants passent un examen de mécanique, après auquel ils suivent encore deux années d’étude.

Combien vais-je gagner?

Vous recevez un salaire pendant votre formation. Le revenu et les avantages sociaux des constructeurs d’ascenseur en cours d’apprentissage sont déterminés pendant les négociations collectives avec les entrepreneurs signataires. Certains programmes d’apprentissage sont offerts conjointement avec des collèges communautaires qui offrent ainsi des crédits de cours.

Les revenus varient selon la région de la section locale. En moyenne, les membres en cours de formation touchent la première année de 40 à 50% du salaire d’un constructeur d’ascenseur en plus des avantages sociaux. Votre salaire est ajusté annuellement au fur et à mesure que vous progressez et acquerrez une plus grande expertise.

Quel type de travail vais-je accomplir?

Les constructeurs d’ascenseur doivent assembler, faire fonctionner, inspecter, tester, maintenir, altérer et réparer des ascenseurs, plates-formes élévatrices, chaises guidées motorisées, escaliers mécaniques, allées roulantes, monte-plats, monte-charge et dispositifs de transfert automatique. Ils doivent également construire, faire fonctionner, inspecter, maintenir, altérer et réparer des véhicules de transport en commun tel que des navettes automatisées. L’emploi implique souvent de travailler en hauteur, près de contacts électriques exposés, de parties mobiles et de câbles.