<< Back

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

The following information is provided as a general overview/guideline and it subject to change. Information as to earnings and benefits should be verified with the trade office in your geographical area as it can vary from province to province.


900 Seventh Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

Top Officer:
Edwin D. Hill, International President
www.ibew.org

The IBEW represents workers in the electrical industry including construction, gas and electric utilities, telecommunications, railroads and government agencies. Construction and residential electricians work in all phases of the electrical construction and service industry. Their worksite ranges from single-family residences to state-of-the-art industrial plants. Inside wire workers may install and maintain conduits, switches and converters, as well as wire lighting, to complex systems incorporating computerization and high technology. Electricians work in the electric sign industry and increasingly perform more work in the installation of fiber optics and voice/data/video equipment. IBEW electricians participate in a five-year apprentice program.

What do Electrical Workers do?

There are four specialty areas where you will find electrical workers. These four areas are best described by the type of work done in each of those areas.

Outside Linemen are the electrical workers who install the distribution and transmission lines that move power from power plant to a factory, a business, or your home.

Inside Wiremen are electrical workers who install the power, lighting, controls and other electrical equipment in commercial and industrial buildings.

VDV Installer Technicians are electrical workers who install circuits and equipment for telephones, computer networks, video distribution systems, security and access control systems and other low voltage systems.

Residential Wiremen are electrical workers who specialize in installing all of the electrical systems in single-family and multi-family houses or dwellings.

What is an Electrical Apprenticeship Program?

Each of the four types of electrical work (inside Wireman, Outside Lineman, Installer Technician and Residential Wireman) share common skills and knowledge. Each also has other skills and knowledge, which are specific to that particular area of work. Because of these differences, each type of work has a different apprenticeship program associated with it. Apprentices receive their training through the National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee of NECA (National Electrical Contractors Association) and IBEW. It's a model education partnership which produces the best-trained, most up-to-date electrical apprentices and journeymen in the country. In addition to receiving skill training on the job, apprentices are provided trade related classroom training that produces competency and pride which lead to true craftsmanship. Quite often some local training committees provide special classes with hands-on training to support classroom lectures and discussions.

How much will I earn?

You earn while you learn the trade. Union journeymen Electrical Workers wages and fringe benefits are negotiated on their behalf by the union through collective bargaining with signatory contractors. Some apprenticeship programs partner with community colleges to offer college credit for apprenticeship classes.

Wages vary according to the geographic location of the local union. The average starting wage for 1st year apprentices is 40 - 50% of the Journeyman's wage rate plus fringe benefits. Your earnings are adjusted annually to reflect your advancing skills and increasing knowledge of the trade.

What is it Like to Work as an Electrician?

Electricians can specialize as a Lineman, an Inside Wireman, an Installer/Technician, or a Residential Wireman. Journeymen Linemen erect and maintain power lines, climb power poles, and work on communication lines. It's highly skilled work that requires a great deal of concentration, skill and knowledge. Demand for this type of work will never go "out of style"... as long as folks use electricity. Joumeymen Wireman wire the industrial plants and factories, the warehouses, the office buildings, the shopping centers small and large... when something goes wrong with the electrical system in such facilities, journeyman wiremen are the ones who are called. Residential Wiremen are responsible for the repair and upgrade work in residential structures. With 90 million single family homes in the U.S., demand just for the repair/upgrade work will never cease. What's more, as more and more people buy computers, and buy items with electronic components that are sensitive to electric power quality, there's more need for the Residential Wireman's skills. Telecommunications -installer Technician are responsible for the wiring that makes the Internet and e-commerce possible. Communication industries rely on something installed everyday by our industry: wires and cables. When building owners and tenants have network wiring problems, they need a professional telecom installer/technician and he or she becomes the most important person in the building!

<< Retour

Fraternité internationale des ouvriers en électricité

Les renseignements suivants figurent à titre informatif et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications sans préavis. Comme les revenus et les avantages sociaux varient d’une province à l’autre, veuillez contacter le bureau syndical pour toute information à cet effet.


Fraternité internationale des ouvriers en électricité
900 Seventh Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001

Dirigeant principal :
Edwin D. Hill, président international
www.ibew.org

L’IBEW représente des travailleurs de l’industrie électrique, notamment dans le secteur de la construction, des services publics de gaz et d’électricité, des télécommunications, des transports ferroviaires ainsi que pour des organismes gouvernementaux. Les électriciens en milieu industriel et résidentiel travaillent dans tous les domaines de la construction électrique et du secteur des services. Ils travaillent dans de nombreux environnements comme des logements résidentiels ou des installations industrielles à la fine pointe de la technologie. Les câbleurs installent et maintiennent des conduits, interrupteurs, transformateurs, éclairages ou systèmes informatiques à haute technologie. Les électriciens travaillent également dans l’industrie des enseignes électriques et dans l’installation de fibres optiques et d’équipement vidéo, informatique et de communication vocale à distance. Les électriciens membres de l’IBEW doivent suivre un programme d’apprentissage de cinq ans.

En quoi consiste le métier d’électricien?

Les électriciens peuvent travailler dans quatre domaines de spécialisation. La nature du travail de ces quatre domaines permet de mieux comprendre ces spécialisations.

Les électriciens qui se spécialisent dans le montage de lignes extérieures installent des lignes de distribution et de transmission d’électricité entre les usines de production d’énergie, les bâtiments commerciaux et les résidences.

Les électriciens spécialisés en câblage intérieur installent des câbles électriques, des systèmes d’éclairage, des réglages ainsi que tout autre type d’équipement électrique dans des bâtiments industriels et commerciaux.

Les techniciens-installateurs de systèmes de télécommunication posent de l’équipement et des circuits téléphoniques, réseaux informatiques, systèmes de distribution vidéo, systèmes de sécurité et de contrôle d’accès et autres systèmes à basse tension.

Les électriciens spécialisés en câblage intérieur résidentiel posent des systèmes électriques dans des maisons unifamiliales, habitations ou bâtiments multifamiliaux.

En quoi consiste le programme de formation au métier d’électricien?

Les quatre domaines de spécialisation du métier d’électricien (câblage intérieur, montage de lignes extérieures, techniciens-installateurs et câblage intérieur résidentiel) comportent des connaissances et aptitudes communes, en plus de leurs compétences propres. Étant donné ces dernières, il y a un programme d’apprentissage pour chaque spécialisation. Les apprentis suivent une formation offerte par le National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee de la NECA (National Electrical Contractors Association) et l’IBEW. Ce partenariat permet de former des apprentis électriciens parmi les plus compétents du pays. En plus des formations sur le terrain, les participants suivent des cours théoriques pour acquérir les compétences et la fierté nécessaires pour exercer leur métier selon les règles de l’art. Dans plusieurs cas, des comités de formation locale offrent des cours pratiques pour compléter la portion théorique.

Combien vais-je gagner?

Vous recevez un salaire pendant votre formation. Le revenu et les avantages sociaux des apprentis électriciens syndiqués sont déterminés pendant les négociations collectives avec les entrepreneurs signataires. Certains programmes d’apprentissage sont offerts conjointement avec des collèges communautaires qui offrent ainsi des crédits de cours.

Les revenus varient selon la région de la section locale. En moyenne, les apprentis touchent la première année de 40 à 50% du salaire d’un électricien en plus des avantages sociaux. Votre salaire est ajusté annuellement au fur et à mesure que vous progressez et acquerrez une plus grande expertise.

Quel type de travail vais-je accomplir?

Les électriciens se spécialisent en montage de lignes extérieures, câblage intérieur, câblage intérieur résidentiel ou comme techniciens-installateurs. Les apprentis qui choisissent de se spécialiser dans le montage de lignes extérieures montent et maintiennent des lignes d’électricité, escaladent des poteaux d’électricité et travaillent sur des lignes de communication. Il s’agit d’un métier hautement spécialisé qui requiert plusieurs connaissances, compétences et un excellent niveau de concentration. Tant que les gens consommeront de l’électricité, ce type de travail sera toujours recherché. Les apprentis qui se spécialisent en câblage intérieur posent des câbles électriques dans des usines, entrepôts, bureaux, petits et grands centres commerciaux, etc. En cas de problème avec les systèmes électriques, ils sont appelés sur place pour y remédier. Les apprentis qui se spécialisent en câblage intérieur résidentiel réparent et mettent à niveau des structures résidentielles. Avec plus de 90 millions de maisons unifamiliales aux États-Unis, ce type de réparation et de travaux est très courant. Étant donné qu’on utilise de plus en plus d’ordinateurs, la qualité des réseaux électriques est d’autant plus importante, d’où la demande pour ce type de métier. Les techniciens-installateurs de systèmes de télécommunication posent le câblage nécessaire pour Internet et le commerce électronique. Le secteur des communications fait appel à nos membres tous les jours pour installer des câbles ou fils. Lorsque les propriétaires ou locataires de bâtiments ont des problèmes de câblage, les techniciens-installateurs deviennent d’une importance primordiale!