<< Back

International Union of Operating Engineers

The following information is provided as a general overview/guideline and it subject to change. Information as to earnings and benefits should be verified with the trade office in your geographical area as it can vary from province to province.


1125 17th St., NW
Washington, DC 20036

Top Officer:
James T. Callahan, General President
www.iuoe.org

IUOE members are operating and stationary engineers, as well as significant numbers of public employees engaged in a wide variety of occupations. Stationary engineers work in operations and maintenance in building and industrial complexes, and in the service industries. Operating engineers operate heavy construction equipment such as cranes, bulldozers, pavers, trench excavators and many other kinds of equipment used in constructing buildings, dams, airports and highways. Operating engineers also work in the sand and gravel, cement and asphalt industries; in the shipyards; on water dredges, oil refineries and oil pipelines; in sewer and water construction; in ports of major cities and many other industries. Most work is done outdoors and depends on the weather.

What do Operating Engineers Do?

Operate heavy construction equipment such as:

What is an Operating Engineers' Apprenticeship Program?

Each of the trades (stationary or hoisting and portable engineer) uses an apprenticeship system. Hours and course description vary between the two classifications, but both have one common goal: to make the Operating Engineer apprentice the most knowledgeable about his/her craft. The National Joint Apprenticeship Training Committees have seen the need to update and streamline programs that include training both in the field and practical hands-on training at dedicated training facilities. With new innovations being introduced every day, these programs are constantly retooling to make their apprentices smarter, safer, and more productive, to ready them for today's contractors. Competitive starting wages and progressive wage increases enhance the Operating Engineer apprenticeship programs and add to the apprenticeship goal of "earn while you learn."

How much will I earn?

You earn while you learn the trade. Union journeymen Operating Engineers wages and fringe benefits are negotiated on their behalf by the union through collective bargaining with signatory contractors. Some apprenticeship programs partner with community colleges to offer college credit for apprenticeship classes.

Wages vary according to the geographic location of the local union. The average starting wage for 1st year apprentices is 40 - 50% of the Journeyman's wage rate plus fringe benefits. Your earnings are adjusted annually to reflect your advancing skills and increasing knowledge of the trade.

What type of work will I do?

Across America and Canada, the Operating Engineers build, maintain, and service places where we live, work, worship, study and play. Operating Engineers maintain control centers, boiler rooms, and HVAC units for our safety, comfort, and well-being, and their skills are put to the task every day.

Hoisting and Portable Operating Engineers work on high, operating construction cranes, as well as in deep excavations with earth moving equipment. They turn lines on paper into skylines and roadways across the USA and Canada. Contractors look to the Operating Engineers and its 400,000 members, for their skills, safety, and proficiency. The Operating Engineer has the respect and control to build the foundations of the world. There is not a better feeling than physically seeing the fruits of your labour, and that's the feeling you get from being an Operating Engineer.

<< Retour

Union internationale des opérateurs-ingénieurs

Les renseignements suivants figurent à titre informatif et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications sans préavis. Comme les revenus et les avantages sociaux varient d’une province à l’autre, veuillez contacter le bureau syndical pour toute information à cet effet.


Union internationale des opérateurs-ingénieurs
1125 17th St., NW
Washington, DC 20036

Dirigeant principal :
James T. Callahan, président général
www.iuoe.org

L’IUOE représente des opérateurs-ingénieurs et mécaniciens de machines fixes, en plus de nombreux employés du secteur public oeuvrant dans divers domaines. Les mécaniciens de machines sont responsables de l’entretien et du fonctionnement de l’équipement dans des bâtiments et complexes industriels, ainsi que dans le secteur des services. Ils manipulent de l’équipement lourd de construction comme des grues, bulldozers, machines à coffrage, excavatrices et tout autre type d’équipement servant à la construction de bâtiments, barrages, aéroports et autoroutes. Les ingénieurs-opérateurs peuvent travailler dans des sablières et gravières, dans l’industrie du ciment et de l’asphalte, dans des chantiers navals, sur des dragues, dans des raffineries et oléoducs, dans la pose de conduites d’eau ou d’égout, dans les ports de grandes villes ainsi que dans plusieurs autres industries. Le travail se fait généralement à l’extérieur et dépend des conditions météorologiques.

En quoi consiste le métier d’opérateur ingénieur?

Manipuler de l’équipement lourd de construction :

En quoi consiste le programme de formation au métier d’opérateur-ingénieur?

Chacun des métiers (mécanicien de machines fixes et opérateur ingénieur) comporte un programme d’apprentissage. Les heures et descriptions de cours dépendent des deux classifications, mais l’objectif principal du programme est de former des professionnels hautement qualifiés. Le Comité conjoint national de l’apprentissage et de la formation a mis à jour et rationalisé le programme de formation pour y inclure des cours sur le terrain et des cours pratiques dans des centres de formation. Les programmes sont régulièrement adaptés pour répondre aux besoins du progrès et pour faire en sorte que les apprentis acquièrent un maximum de connaissances, en plus de travailler de manière efficace et productive et ainsi atteindre les objectifs des entrepreneurs qui les embauchent. Non seulement les apprentis touchent-ils un salaire pendant leur formation, mais le programme offre un salaire de départ concurrentiel et des augmentations progressives de salaire.

Combien vais-je gagner?

Vous recevez un salaire pendant votre formation. Le revenu et les avantages sociaux des opérateurs ingénieurs en cours d’apprentissage sont déterminés pendant les négociations collectives avec les entrepreneurs signataires. Certains programmes d’apprentissage sont offerts conjointement avec des collèges communautaires qui offrent ainsi des crédits de cours.

Les revenus varient selon la région de la section locale. En moyenne, les membres en cours de formation touchent la première année de 40 à 50% du salaire d’un opérateur ingénieur en plus des avantages sociaux. Votre salaire est ajusté annuellement au fur et à mesure que vous progressez et acquerrez une plus grande expertise.

Quel type de travail vais-je accomplir?

Les opérateurs-ingénieurs construisent, maintiennent et entretiennent nos domiciles, lieux de travail, lieux de culte, établissements scolaires et aires de jeu. Ils sont responsables du maintien de centres de contrôle, chaufferies et systèmes de chauffage et de climatisation, pour assurer notre confort et notre sécurité au quotidien.

Certains opérateurs-ingénieurs doivent travailler en hauteur, manipuler des grues ou faire des travaux d’excavation en profondeur avec de l’équipement mobile. Grâce à leur travail, les plans d’architecture prennent forme pour donner lieu à des grattes-ciel et des routes traversant l’Amérique du Nord. Les entrepreneurs font appel aux 400 000 membres de l’IUOE à cause de leur expertise, sécurité et productivité. Le syndicat jouit aujourd’hui du respect et de la confiance nécessaire pour construire les fondations de notre monde. À titre d’opérateur-ingénieur, vous aurez un très grand sentiment de satisfaction en voyant les fruits de votre labeur.