<< Back

United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada

The following information is provided as a general overview/guideline and it subject to change. Information as to earnings and benefits should be verified with the trade office in your geographical area as it can vary from province to province.


United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada

Three Park Place
Annapolis, MD 21401

Top Officer:
William P. Hite, General President
http://uacanada.ca

 UA 488

UA Local 488 in Edmonton has added over 100 former military to their membership!

UA is a multi-craft union that represents plumbers and pipe, sprinkler, and refrigeration fitters, as well as service technicians. All of these jobs require the installation, remodeling or maintenance of systems that carry water, steam, air and other liquids or gases necessary for sanitation, industrial production, heating and air conditioning, and many other uses. Workers measure, cut, and bend pipe, as well as weld, braze, caulk, solder, glue or thread joints at residential and commercial job sites.

What do Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Do?

What is a Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Apprenticeship Program?

To join the UA without any prior experience, individuals enter a United Association five-year apprenticeship program and are part of a select group of men and women motivated to learn a complex and challenging trade while upholding the ideals of trade unionism.

Applicants are evaluated on the same fair basis, without regard to race, sex, national origin or religious affiliation.

UA apprentices learn through both classroom and on-the-job training in what is considered by many to be the best construction industry apprentice program in the world. The five-year apprenticeship period is divided into one-year segments, each of which includes 1,700 to 2,000 hours of on-the-job training and a minimum of 216 hours of related classroom instruction.

All UA apprentices receive a strong general education background in the trade, with core courses in basics such as mathematics, drawing and so on. At a certain point, apprentices can choose a specific path to follow, to become trained as a journeyman plumber, pipe fitter, sprinkler fitter, service mechanic, and so on. Apprenticeship is not an easy time: UA apprentices must work the same hours as journeymen plus attend night classes. Yet, this can be a highly rewarding career path for an individual who is motivated to learn the piping trade and become an active member of a proud and noble trade union.

Certification Programs

Certification is the wave of the future in the piping industry. With the increasingly complex and challenging work that must be done by the modern pipe mechanic, it is almost required that craftsmen seek some form of official validation of their skills. In addition to the considerable prestige and knowledge that comes with being a UA journeyman, UA members can also pursue these certifications in a variety of specialized areas. UA Certification Programs include valve repair, medical gas installation, welding, CFC removal, and instrumentation. Each of these programs relies on third party validation for an objective evaluation and testing of our members' skills and abilities.

Welder's Certification Program

The UA Welder Certification Program has no parallel in the building and construction industry. Developed and designed to help meet the growing need for experienced, quality welders.

The program provides pre-tested, certified and immediately available journeymen welders throughout the United States and Canada at no cost to the construction user. The United Association underwrites the cost of testing and qualifying its welders by independent testers, auditors and other third parties involved in the program's success.

Who Needs UA Certified Welders?

America's power companies are leading the way in signing on to the United Association Welder Certification Program. In construction and maintenance of critical assurance of continuing compliance with the energy industry's demanding quality and safety standards.

Breweries and other food and beverage producers; pharmaceutical, educational, medical, and correctional facilities; malls and other large commercial developments all depend on quality workmanship.

UA's Welder Certification Process

UA welders are tested at local training sites across the United States and Canada under a consistent set of guidelines and rules.

Applicants are tested on the welding processes most commonly used on the majority of construction projects. Welders can choose to seek certification in any or all processes.

How Much Will I Earn?

You earn while you learn the trade. Union journeymen Plumbers and Pipefitters wages and fringe benefits are negotiated on their behalf by the union through collective bargaining with signatory contractors. Some apprenticeship programs partner with community colleges to offer college credit for apprenticeship classes.

Wages vary according to the geographic location of the local union. The average starting wage for 1st year apprentices is 40 - 50% of the Journeyman's wage rate plus fringe benefits. Your earnings are adjusted annually to reflect your advancing skills and increasing knowledge of the trade.

What Type Of Work Will I Do?

UA members (plumbers, pipefitters, sprinklerfitters, refrigeration fitters, and service technicians) are involved in just about every aspect of construction involving piping from the space program to nuclear power houses to refineries to shipbuilding. UA craftsmen ply their skills in commercial, industrial and residential arenas. They may be found on jobsites involving single family homes, garden and high-rise apartment buildings, large and small office buildings, power plants, chemical installations and factories. At this very moment, there may also be UA members at work installing complicated medical gas piping in your local hospital or putting sprinkler systems in the hotel where you will take your family on vacation. Other UA members are laying pipelines that stretch across the landscape to serve your community's energy needs. Visitors to the 1996 Olympic venues in Atlanta, Georgia and sports enthusiasts trekking to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio all have seen firsthand just a few of the many recent projects built or expanded with the craftsmanship of UA members.

<< Retour

Association unie des compagnons et apprentis de la plomberie et de la tuyauterie des États-Unis et du Canada

Les renseignements suivants figurent à titre informatif et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications sans préavis. Comme les revenus et les avantages sociaux varient d’une province à l’autre, veuillez contacter le bureau syndical pour toute information à cet effet.


Association unie des compagnons et apprentis de la plomberie et de la tuyauterie des États-Unis et du Canada

Three Park Place
Annapolis, MD 21401

Dirigeant principal :
William P. Hite, président général
http://uacanada.ca

 UA 488

À Edmonton le local 488 de L’Association unie a recruté plus de 100 nouveaux membres a ses effectifs!

L’Association unie est un syndicat multidisciplinaire qui représente des plombiers, installateurs de chaudières, monteurs de gicleurs et d’appareils de réfrigération, en plus de techniciens de maintenance spécialisés dans les systèmes de distribution d’eau, vapeur, air, liquide et gaz dans des installations sanitaires, industrielles ou qui servent aux appareils de chauffage et de climatisation. Les travailleurs mesurent, coupent et plient des tuyaux, soudent, calfatent, collent ou filètent des joints dans le domaine résidentiel et commercial.

En quoi consiste le métier de plombier et tuyauteur?

En quoi consiste le programme de formation au métier de plombier et tuyauteur?

Les candidats qui font une demande auprès de l’AU sans expérience préalable doivent suivre une formation de cinq ans. Le programme s’adresse aux individus qui désirent entreprendre un métier exigeant tout en défendant les idéaux de la vie syndicale.

Les candidats sont évalués équitablement selon les mêmes critères, sans égard à la race, au sexe, à l’origine nationale ou à l’appartenance religieuse.

Le programme d’apprentissage de l’AU comporte des cours théoriques et une formation pratique que plusieurs considèrent comme étant l’une des meilleures de l’industrie de la construction. Les participants suivent de 1700 à 2000 heures de formation pratique par année, en plus d’un minimum de 216 heures de cours pratiques.

Le programme d’apprentissage offre aux participants un enseignement général de très haut niveau, notamment avec des cours de mathématiques, dessin industriel, etc. En cours de formation, les participants choisissent de se spécialiser comme plombier, monteur de gicleurs, installateur de chaudières, mécanicien d’entretien ou autre. Il s’agit d’un programme d’apprentissage difficile, où les candidats travaillent le même nombre d’heures qu’un ouvrier qualifié, en plus de suivre des cours du soir. En revanche, la profession peut être très gratifiante pour les individus motivés qui désirent être membre actif d’un fier et noble syndicat.

Programmes d’apprentissage

Les programmes d’apprentissage constituent l’avenir de l’industrie de la tuyauterie. Étant donné la nature complexe et exigeante du métier de tuyauteur, il est très important que les ouvriers suivent une formation reconnue. En plus du prestige que l’AU offre à ses membres, ces derniers peuvent poursuivre leur apprentissage dans plusieurs domaines de spécialisation. Parmi ces programmes figurent la réparation de valves, l’installation de gaz médical, la soudure, l’enlèvement de CFC et l’instrumentation. Chaque programme est fondé sur un système de validation par les pairs pour évaluer les connaissances et aptitudes des participants de façon objective.

Programme d’apprentissage au métier de soudeur

Le programme d’apprentissage de l’AU au métier de soudeur est unique dans l’industrie du bâtiment et de la construction. Il a été conçu et mis en place pour répondre à la demande croissante de soudeurs ayant un bon niveau d’expérience et de compétence.

Par le biais du programme, les entrepreneurs du Canada et des États-Unis ont accès sans frais à une main-d’œuvre qualifiée. L’Association unie assume les honoraires des évaluateurs indépendants qui contribuent au succès du programme.

Qui fait appel aux soudeurs qualifiés de l’AU?

Plusieurs compagnies électriques américaines font appel aux soudeurs qui ont suivi le programme d’apprentissage de l’Association unie, qui prend toutes les mesures possibles pour se conformer aux normes de qualité et de sécurité de l’industrie de la construction et de l’entretien.

Selon leurs besoins, des brasseries et producteurs de breuvages, compagnies pharmaceutiques, écoles, établissements pénitentiaires et centres médicaux ont aussi recours à la main-d’œuvre qualifiée de l’association.

Obtention d’un certificat de soudeur auprès de l’AU

Les candidats de l’AU suivent un processus d’évaluation rigoureux, fondé sur un ensemble de normes et de critères, dans des centres de formation aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Ils doivent se soumettre à une évaluation des techniques de soudure utilisées dans la plupart des chantiers de construction. Les candidats peuvent se spécialiser dans une ou plusieurs techniques.

Combien vais-je gagner?

Vous recevez un salaire pendant votre formation. Le revenu et les avantages sociaux des plombiers et tuyauteurs sont déterminés pendant les négociations collectives avec les entrepreneurs signataires. Certains programmes d’apprentissage sont offerts conjointement avec des collèges communautaires qui offrent ainsi des crédits de cours.

Les revenus varient selon la région de la section locale. En moyenne, les membres en cours de formation touchent la première année de 40 à 50% du salaire d’un ouvrier qualifié en plus des avantages sociaux. Votre salaire est ajusté annuellement au fur et à mesure que vous progressez et acquerrez une plus grande expertise.

Quel type de travail vais-je accomplir?

Les membres de l’AU (plombiers, tuyauteurs, monteurs de gicleurs et d’appareils de réfrigération et mécaniciens d’entretien) travaillent dans de nombreux domaines de construction, comme l’industrie navale, raffineries, production d’énergie nucléaire et programmes spatiaux. Les ouvriers qualifiés de l’AU oeuvrent aussi à l’échelle résidentielle, industrielle et commerciale. Ils sont embauchés dans des chantiers de construction de logements résidentiels, bâtiments, tours d’habitation, grands et petits bureaux, centrales électriques, usines chimiques et manufactures. En ce moment même, il est fort probable que des membres de l’AU installent un système complexe de tuyauterie de gaz dans un hôpital, des gicleurs dans l’hôtel où vous prévoyez vos vacances en famille ou participent à la construction d’un pipeline pour répondre aux besoins énergétiques de votre municipalité. Parmi les projets auxquels les ouvriers qualifiés de l’AU ont contribué figurent le site des Jeux olympiques d’Atlanta en 1996 et le Pro Football Hall of Fame à Canton, en Ohio.